Destiny, destiny protect me from the world…

Its out and I’m off.

Yep, Fedora 7 (Moonshine) was released 45 minutes ago. I won’t have the pleasure of its company for a week however as I’m off on holiday with the family. Should be quite a gig.

It is the first version of Fedora I have run since testing began and of course it comes with Jokosher ready to go, the first mainstream distribution to do so. I’ve really enjoyed watching the whole thing come together and getting an idea of quite how frantic the last few days are before release. The kernel developers should win medals for this stuff. Its equally amazing how people are cracking to get started on Fedora 8 – bring it on. So if you’re fed up with viruses, pop-ups, reboots, restrictions, a computer that slowly grinds to a halt over time and constantly forking out more money for the fat cats of big software companies I strongly suggest you give Fedora a chance.

Leave a Reply

